IIT Kanpur joins hands with ASEAN Economic ForumIIT Kanpur

Virendra Singh Rawat

The Indian Institute of Technology (IIT), Kanpur will host its 57th Convocation Ceremony on June 29.

The occasion will be graced by the President of Oregon State University (OSU), USA, Prof Jayathi Y Murthy, an IIT Kanpur alumna, as the Chief Guest.

Dr K Radhakrishnan, Chairperson, Board of Governors (BoG), IIT Kanpur, and Prof Manindra Agrawal, Director IIT Kanpur, will preside over the ceremony.

Prof Murthy completed her Bachelor’s degree in Mechanical Engineering from IIT Kanpur and was honoured as a Distinguished Alumna in 2012.

She was appointed as OSU’s 16th President in 2022, becoming the first woman of colour to lead the varsity.

She is a renowned leader in engineering education and is known for her focus on diversity, equity, and inclusion.

The Convocation Ceremony will be held for 2,332 graduating students, including 226 PhD recipients, 457 M Tech recipients, and 842 B Tech recipients.

The ceremony will also see 165 students from M Sc (2-year), 36 from MBA, 12 from M Tech-PhD (Joint Degree), 1 from M Des (Joint Degree), 17 from M Des, 77 from MS (by Research), 40 from PGPEX-VLFM, 26 from Double Major, 89 from Dual Degree, 14 from MS-PD (MS part of the Dual Degree), 125 from BS, and 205 from the eMasters degree programs.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *