IIT Kanpur convocationIIT Kanpur convocation

Virendra Singh Rawat

The Indian Institute of Technology (IIT), Kanpur today celebrated its 57th Convocation, conferring degrees on 2,332 graduates across various disciplines.

Prof Jayathi Y Murthy, President of Oregon State University, USA, and an IIT Kanpur alumna was the Chief Guest, while Dr Mahesh Gupta, Board of Governors (BoG), IIT Kanpur; and Prof Manindra Agrawal, Director, IIT Kanpur presided over the convocation.

The 2,332 graduates across disciplines included 226 PhD recipients, 457 MTech recipients, 842 BTech recipients, 165 MSc (2-year) recipients, 36 MBA recipients, 12 MTech-PhD (Joint Degree) recipients, 1 MDes (Joint Degree) recipient, 17 MDes recipients, 77 MS (by Research) recipients, 40 PGPEX-VLFM recipients, 26 Double Major recipients, 89 Dual Degree recipients, 14 MS-PD (MS part of the Dual Degree) recipients, 125 BS recipients, and 205 eMasters degree programs recipients.

Having completed her BTech in Mechanical Engineering from IIT Kanpur, Prof Murthy was recognised as a Distinguished Alumna in 2012. The first woman of colour to lead Oregon State University, she is a renowned leader in engineering education and is known for her focus on diversity and equity.

“The world will offer you competing narratives about who you are and what you’re worth. Its in your power to choose the narrative of your life and to write your own story,” she noted in her address.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *